Test

The National Wilderness Skills Institute Core Team is made up of federal agency and partner representatives from across the country:

  • Bob Marshall Wilderness Foundation: Bill Hodge
  • River Management Society: Angie Fuhrman and Risa Shimoda
  • Selway Bitterroot Frank Church Foundation: Ian Davidson
  • Society for Wilderness Stewardship: Jacob Wall
  • Southern Appalachian Wilderness Stewards: Eric Giebelstein
  • Arthur Carhart National Wilderness Training Center: Dan Abbe
  • USDA Forest Service: John Campbell, Jimmy Gaudry, Carol Hennessey, Nancy Taylor, and Dusty Vaughn
    • Schedule:

      Each day will start at 11 am ET / 10 am CT / 9 am MT / 8 am PT / 7 am AKT with a Welcome on the first day and “Coffee Hours” on the following days. Various classes will be spaced out over the following 5 hours with scheduled breaks and opportunities to move around. A “Happy Hour” will start at the end of the day at 5 pm ET / 4 pm CT / 3 pm MT / 2 pm PT / 1 pm AKT.

      Classes are being organized into 6 categories with the following classes under development:

      Field Skills

      Trail Maintenance
      Crosscut Saws
      Hand Tools
      Pack Stock
      Backpacking
      Outdoor Cooking/Nutrition

      Visitor Use Management

      Visitor Use Management Framework
      Indicators
      Lessons from the Field (showcases from various projects)
      Visitor Interactions and Authority of the Resource
      Recreation Site Monitoring
      Solitude Monitoring
      Trail Condition Reporting
      Implementing a Permit System
      Steps for Addressing Visitor Capacity
      Visitor Use Impact Restoration Actions

      Wild & Scenic Rivers

      History of Wild & Scenic Rivers Act
      Fire Management
      Implementing Comprehensive River Management Plans
      Outstandingly Remarkable Values
      Section 7 Analysis
      Core Competencies for River Rangers/Lessons Learned
      Wild & Scenic River Coalition

      Wilderness I (draft name)

      History of Wilderness Act
      Wilderness Values & Benefits
      Four Cornerstones of Wilderness Management
      Understanding Wilderness Character
      Special Provisions & Prohibited Uses
      Introduction to Wilderness Stewardship Performance
      Introduction to Wilderness Character Monitoring

      Wilderness II (draft name)

      Keeping It Wild 2
      Wilderness Stewardship Performance – Specific Elements: Natural Role of Fire, Recreation Sites, Trails, Opportunities for Solitude, and Agency Management Actions
      Wilderness Stewardship Performance Roundtable/Lighting Round: Education, Invasive Species, Motorized Use/Mechanical Transport, Cultural Resources
      Wilderness Character Monitoring: Overview, Baselines, and Monitoring
      Minimum Requirements Analysis

      Joint Sessions

      Welcome and Opening Keynote
      Public Lands History
      Leave No Trace Outdoor Skills & Ethics – Introduction and Teaching Tools
      Funding Programs
      Working with Agencies & Partners
      Current Challenges & Priorities
      “Coffee Hours” – Regional Breakouts, Micro-Mentoring Sessions, Topic Breakouts including Wilderness Research, International/Global Initiatives, and more
      “Happy Hours” – Keynote Discussion, Trivia Night, Movie Night, Regional Virtual Campfire Chats, and Next Steps

Scroll to Top

The Society for Wilderness Stewardship is a non-profit, charitable organization under the 501 (c)(3) section of the Internal Revenue Code.